British Minigolf Association Doubles Championships 2012


John McIver and Nick Chitty win the BMGA British Doubles Championships 2012

 The team of John McIver and Nick Chitty won the BMGA British Doubles Championships on Sunday 9th September winning all six of their matches on the road to the title.

 16 pairs competed in the tournament with each of the teams playing in a qualifying group stage comprised of 12-hole matches, before moving on to a knockout stage to determine the final rankings.

 The final pitted McIver and Chitty against Chris Smith and Seth Thomas and the team from the Planet Hastings Crazy Golf Club won the game 3&1 to take the title. 

McIver and Chitty won through the group stage and defeated the team of Luton’s Richard Gottfried and Margate’s Scott Lancley who once again lost to the eventual champions in the quarter-finals. The London Minigolf Club team of Chris Jones and Brad Shepherd were the duo’s victims in the semi-finals to set up the match against Smith and Thomas.

 The all-Cambridgeshire Mini Golf Club pairing of Smith and Thomas’ road to the final saw them finish as runners-up in their group before defeating Marion Homer and Sean Homer in the quarter-finals and John Moore and David Donnelly in the semi-finals.

 In the third and fourth place play-off match Jones and Shepherd were defeated by the team of John Moore and David Donnelly who claimed the bronze medals with a 3&1 victory.

 Full results from the 2012 BMGA British Doubles Championships can be found at


Words: Richard Gottfried

Pictures: From KMGC

Previous results: 2010  2009  2008   2007   2006